Solved

Managing Duplicates with Zapier?

• 18 January 2022
  • 9 replies

• Inspirational User
  • 6 replies

Hi,

We just stared using Zapier to help with importing leads that we manage in Mailchimp into copper, and updating the leads/person records without creating duplicates or overwriting data…

I think it should be possible to also manage duplicates somehow, but the question is how?

I am new to Zapier, so I am not sure what the best way to do that is, any thoughts?

UPDATE May 2022: We now have a native two-way Mailchimp integration that syncs contacts between the two systems! Read about it here.

icon

Best answer by CDub 18 January 2022, 19:05

View original

This topic has been closed for comments

9 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge

Hi @CDub 

Yes, you can do this with Zapier. Before you upload any new Leads you can use the 'Find People/Leads' action to check if the person already exists in Copper.  If found you can decide what needs to done.

If you need support with advanced workflows to get more out of Copper, you should have a look at three60.io.

Thanks, Jaco

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Hi @CDub, great question! There are several ways to manage duplicates in Zapier. Based on what you’ve described, it sounds like the easiest way for you is to use the action for “Create/Update Person in Copper” (or the equivalent action for Leads). That action is really two in one - it checks if someone already exists in Copper and if they don’t, it will add them for you.

The setup is pretty straightforward but I’m going to point out two areas that are especially relevant for you. I’m going to use Create/Update Person in Copper in the example below, but you can also set it up for Leads or another record type.